more from
Disco Gecko Recordings

30 Times Around the Sun (Mixed)

by Banco de Gaia



30 Times Around the Sun is a compilation of tracks drawn from the last 30 years of Banco de Gaia, with every track written, recorded or released in different years during that time. In chronological order, the compilation begins with an early experimental live track and ends with Banco’s latest work.

Banco de Gaia was born in 1989 when Toby Marks and Andy Guthrie decided to try combining electronic dance music (dominated at the time by hip hop and acid house) with elements of ambient and world music. 30 years on the experiment continues and we thought it was time to take stock.

The collection spans house, techno, breakbeats, world music, ambient, dub and avant garde, showcasing the wide range of Toby’s (and Andy’s) musical interests. Various guest musicians are featured as well as a variety of remixers who further extend the styles on offer. A lot of ground is covered over the 30 years but there is a consistency at it’s heart, reflecting Toby’s ongoing pursuit of a perfect musical expression whatever the style.


released February 21, 2019

All tracks written by T Marks except:
Indihop written by T Marks and A Guthrie
Kincajou (Small and Cuddly Mix) written by T Marks and N Sparkes
Drippy (Deeply Dipped Remix) written by T Marks, A Guthrie and S Wild
Obsidian (Fluke Remix) written by T Marks and J Folker
Gray Over Gray (FutureLoopFoundation's Nightime Chanteaux Mix) written by T Marks and J Folker
Tongue In Chic (Midival Punditz Remix) written by T Marks and J Folker

Additional musicians:

Toby Marks: Guitar, Guitar Synth, Drum Machine
Andy Guthrie: Keyboards, Drum Machine, Sequencer

Therapy/Terra Om:
Matt Jenkins: Piano

Heliopolis (Live at Glastonbury):
Jo Marshall: Flute

Kincajou (Small and Cuddly Mix):
Neil Sparkes: Vocals and live percussion

How Much Reality Can You Take? (Live 2001):
Ted Duggan: Drums

Obsidian (Fluke Remix) / Glove Puppet (Dreadzone Remix) / Gray Over Gray (FutureLoopFoundation's Nightime Chanteaux Mix) / Tongue In Chic (Midival Punditz remix):
Jennifer Folker: Vocals

Maya Preece: Vocals

Wimble Toot:
Matt Jenkins: Soprano Saxophone

Apollon Live:
Toby Marks: Guitar, Electronics
James Eller: Bass
Ted Duggan: Drums

No Hablo Italiano:
James Eller: Bass


all rights reserved



Banco de Gaia Somerset

Welcome to the strange and wonderful world of Banco de Gaia


contact / help

Contact Banco de Gaia

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Banco de Gaia recommends:

If you like Banco de Gaia, you may also like: